### **Special Thanks**

Ting Guo, Department Chair



#### **Undergraduate Affairs Committee**

Annaliese K. Franz (Chair) Carlito Lebrilla (Chair) Neil Schore (Chair) Shota Atsumi Louise Berben Ozcan Gulacar Kristie Koski Delmar Larsen



Perry Gee, Department of Chemistry Jasmine Durias, Mathematical and Physical Sciences Rachel de los Reyes, Mathematical and Physical Sciences



#### **Graduate Affairs Committee**

Frank E. Osterloh (Chair) James B. Ames Alan L. Balch Peter A. Beal William H. Casey Jacquelyn Gervay-Hague Atul Parikh Alexei Stuchebrukhov Dean J. Tantillo



Brad Wolf, Department of Chemistry



#### **Chemistry Graduate Student Association**



All of our Alumni, Donors, and Department Friends who continue to support the Department of Chemistry and make these awards possible.

# **UCDAVIS**

# 2017 Departmental Awards in Chemistry

Friday, June 16, 2017

4:00PM

#### **Introductions**

Dr. Ting Guo—Department Chair



#### **Undergraduate Awards**

Presenters — Dr. Annaliese Franz and Dr. Neil Schore — Vice-Chairs for Undergraduate Affairs



#### Scholarship for Outstanding Performance in the Undergraduate Major

Ashlyn Boardman Natalie DeForest Minh Dinh Clarissa Donna Mustafa Edrees Jesse Erdmann Alexandra Greb Zackery Gruey Kelly Gullett Haojuan He Jonathan Hsu Kexin Huang Ming Yin Kwong Sam Little Yiyun Liu Spivey McLane Alexandra Milkey Paige Morgan

Yiyun Liu Spivey McLane
Alexandra Milkey Paige Morgan
Taruna Neelakantan Minh Nguyen
Jenna Pregent Lauren Reynolds
Brian Roehrich Marina Shatskikh
Jeanelle Smoot Emma Tribble
Juan Vazquez-Marquez Mingxuan Wei

Dan Williams



#### **Departmental Research Highest Honors**

Shiela Angulo Michael Aristov
Robert Bruce Ardavan Farahvash
Blanca Gomez Navtej Grewal
Zackery Gruey Jessi Hartman
Lara Ibrahim Ada Kwong
Allison Lee Clarabella Li
Alicia Lim Jonathan Luke

Joseph Mazzetti Madeline Mumbleau
Kelly Nguyen Skylar Osler
Sarah Potter Alec Tyra
Holly Vickery Ben Wigman

#### **Outstanding Dissertation Award in Chemistry**

Juli-Anna Dolyniuk

"Clathrate Thermoelectrics Based on Late Transition Metals and Phosphorus: Synthesis, Properties, and Optimization"



#### Susan M. Kauzlarich Graduate Fellowship in Inorganic Chemistry

Katayoun Tabatabaei



#### R. Bryan Miller Graduate Summer Fellowship

Stephanie Hare



#### Tara K. Telford Fellowship

Jackson Zhu



#### **Graduate External Awards**

#### Alfred H. and Marie E. Gibeling Fellowship

Juli-Anna Dolyniuk



#### 2016-2017 ARCS Scholar Award

Stephanie Hare



#### Marie Curie Postdoctoral Fellowship

Nhu Nguyen



#### **NIH Training Program in Chemical Biology**

Andrea Coleman Kori Lay
Calvin Ly



#### NIH Training Program in Biomolecular Technology

Cody Yothers



#### U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Science Graduate Student Research

Elizabeth Wille

#### **Graduate Awards**

Presenter – Dr. Frank Osterloh – Vice-Chair for Graduate Affairs



#### **Outstanding Teaching Assistant Awards**

Brittany Armstrong Fernanda Bononi

Jordan Carter Jack Fuzell

Forrest Hyler Jake Jagannathan

Sommer Johansen Zheng Ju Lucy Luong Rachel Welch



#### **Chemistry Safety Star Awards**

Brittany Anderson
Fernanda Bononi
Leslie Nickerson
Xian Powers

Brittany Armstrong
Josh Greenfield
Cody Palumbo
Clifton Wagner



#### **Bradford Borge Graduate Fellowship**

Samantha Hartanto Julia Kerr

Christopher Knell Elizabeth Lotsof
Joe Perryman Ka Yi "Innes" Tsui
Robert Van Ostrand Xander Wilcox



#### Fred P. Corson/Dow Chemical Company Graduate Fellowship

Joe Perryman



#### David and Ruth Volman Graduate Fellowship in Chemistry

Eric Zheng



#### **Edmund and Wilma Fink Memorial Award**

Nhu Nguyen



#### Peter A. Rock Graduate Fellowship

Bo Xiong

#### **Citation for Outstanding Graduating Seniors**

Shiela Angulo Kasey Edwards Ardavan Farahvash Navtej Grewal Ada Kwong Jessi Hartman Allison Lee Clarabella Li Xiaoqiong "Crystal" Lin Ionathan Luke Rucha Mahadik Joseph Mazzetti Minh Nauyen Skylar Osler Sarah Potter Gillian Rexroad Holly Vickery Ben Wigman



## Richard Larock Undergraduate Research Award Best Presentation in Chemical Biology

Ardavan Farahvash

#### **Best Presentation in Organic/Inorganic Chemistry**

Navtej Grewal and Ming Yin Kwong

#### **Best Presentation in Physical/Analytical Chemistry**

Jessi Hartman and Alec Tyra



#### Susan M. Kauzlarich Undergraduate Inorganic Research Award

Sheila Kulkarni Maria Angelica Wong Chang



#### **Outstanding Graduating Senior Award**

Ardavan Farahvash (LCPH) Ben Wigman (LCHE) Sarah Potter (LPMC)



#### **ACS Hach Land Grant Undergraduate Scholarship**

Teresa Huang Daniel Oliveira

## Ramin Najafi/Novabay Undergraduate Award in Medicinal Chemistry

Ada Kwong

### R. Bryan Miller Undergraduate Award Alexandra Greb R. Bryan Miller Undergraduate Best Poster Award Alexandra Greb **Outstanding Contribution to the Undergraduate Class** Sarah Potter Megan Tsao Holly Vickery Ben Wigman Maureen Bellettini Undergraduate Research Award Alexandra Greb Maureen Bellettini Memorial Book Award Daniel Williams ACS Undergraduate Award Nominee—Analytical Jeanelle Smoot **ACS Undergraduate Award Nominee-Inorganic** Joseph Mazzetti **ACS Undergraduate Award Nominee-Physical** Zackery Gruey **ACS Undergraduate Award Nominee-Organic** Ben Wigman **ACS Undergraduate Travel Award** Ben Wigman **URC Undergraduate Travel Award** Blanca Gomez Michael Aristov Joseph Mazzetti Alexandra Milkey

Spivey McLane

#### **UC LEADS Research Scholars**

Manuel Larach

#### **Provost's Undergraduate Fellowship Awards**

Navtej Grewal Jose Moreno Corrine Penrod Marina Shatskikh

#### UC Davis Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research

Sarah Potter, Honorable Mention

#### **MURPPS Research Scholars**

Thomas Garcia Bryanna Haynes Arturo Sandoval

#### **NSF CAMP Research Scholars**

David Alejandro Aguilar Alma Perez

#### **NSF Graduate Research Fellowship**

Ben Wigman