Special Thanks

Pete Beal, Department Chair



Undergraduate Affairs Committee

Matt Augustine (Chair) Neil Schore (Chair) Shota Atsumi Louise Berben Sheila David Ozcan Gulacar Kristie Koski

Undergraduate Advising

Perry Gee, Department of Chemistry Rachel de los Reyes, Department of Chemistry



Graduate Affairs Committee

Andrew J. Fisher (Chair) James B. Ames Alan L. Balch William H. Casey Kyle Crabtree Jacquelyn Gervay-Hague Dean J. Tantillo



Graduate Advising

Brad Wolf, Department of Chemistry



Chemistry Graduate Student Association



All of our Alumni, Donors, and Department Friends who continue to support the Department of Chemistry and make these awards possible.

UCDAVIS

2018 Departmental Awards in Chemistry

Friday, June 15, 2018

4:00PM

Introductions

Dr. Neil Schore - Vice-Chair for Undergraduate Affairs



Presenters—Dr. Neil Schore and Dr. Matthew Augustine— Vice-Chairs for Undergraduate Affairs

Scholarship for Outstanding Performance in the Undergraduate Major

Katie Chen Taruna Neelakantan

Dylan Folkner
Kexin Huang
Winh Nguyen
Virginia Johnson
Karina Targos
Anthony Lam
Yiyun Liu
Stephanie Ly
Brianca Netto
Karina Targos
Targos
Jingyi Yang
Tsz Yu
Jiyuan Zhou

Alexandra Milkey

Departmental Research Highest Honors

Noreen Brar Svetlana Miakicheva Catherine Chen Marina Shatskikh Natalie Deforest Jeanelle Smoot

Alexandra Greb Maria Wong Chang

Chiaohwei Lee

Departmental Research High Honors

David Dominguez-Aguilar Sheila Kulkarni Kelly Gullett Alma Perez Matti Jirjees Russell Perry

Outstanding Dissertation Award in Chemistry

Stephanie Hare

"Control Factors in Reactions Containing Post-Transition State Bifurcations"

Susan M. Kauzlarich Graduate Fellowship in Inorganic Chemistry

Ting Yi "Charlie" Lai

R. Bryan Miller Graduate Summer Fellowship

Lee Dunlap Jackson Zhu

Tara K. Telford Fellowship

Jackson Zhu

Graduate External Awards

2018-2019 ARCS Scholar Award

Lucy Luong

NASA Earth and Space Science Fellowship in Astrophysics

Sommer Johansen

Chateaubriand Fellowship

Zachary Buchanan

2017 ITS- Davis Chevron Fellowship

Joe Perryman

Keller Fellow

Nicole Nunez

Graduate Awards

Presenter – Dr. Andrew J. Fisher – Vice-Chair for Graduate Affairs



Outstanding Teaching Assistant Awards

Alex De Denko
Wanqing Li
Leslie Nickerson
Lucas Souza
Cary Stennett
Robert Tureski
Sommer Johansen
Leslie Nickerson
Audrey Sulkanen
Victoria Tran



Bradford Borge Graduate Fellowship

Thomas Bass Christopher Ranque

Benjamin Bergstrom Ami Rose
Vanessa Lee Ian Salveson
Eric Nguyen Casey Sugie
Justin O'Sullivan RJ Tombari
Matt Owen David Zhou



Fred P. Corson/Dow Chemical Company Graduate Fellowship

Benjamin Bergstrom



David and Ruth Volman Graduate Fellowship in Chemistry

Xian Powers



Edmund and Wilma Fink Memorial Award

Sophia Fricke



Peter A. Rock Graduate Fellowship

Zachary Streeter



Raymond M. Keefer Fellowship

Val Yu



Citation for Outstanding Graduating Seniors

Natalie Deforest
Alexandra Greb
Kelly Gullett
Teresa A. Huang
Hilary Kane
Sheila Kulkarni
Ming Yin Kwong

Svetlana Miakicheva
Linh "Janice" Ngo
Marina Shatskikh
Jeanelle Smoot
Khoi Nguyen Tran
Daniel Williams
Maria Wong Chang



Richard Larock Undergraduate Research Award Best Presentation in Chemical Biology

Devin Minter (Atsumi) Arya Azinfar (Olson)

Best Presentation in Organic/Inorganic Chemistry

Kelly Gullett (Power) Niklas Kraemer (Kurth)

Best Presentation in Physical/Analytical Chemistry

Brian Roehrich (Osterloh) Gabriella Lahti (Koski)



Susan M. Kauzlarich Undergraduate Inorganic Research Award

Antonio Vazquez (Power)



Outstanding Graduating Senior Award

Alexandra Greb (LPMC) Khoi Nguyen Tran (LPCH) Ming Yin Kwong (LCHE)



ACS Hach Land Grant Undergraduate Scholarship Sally Burke

Francesca Miller Undergraduate Fellowship Award Alexandra Greb (Olson) Noreen Brar (Franz) R. Bryan Miller Undergraduate Best Poster Award Arya Azinfar (Olson) **Outstanding Contribution to the Undergraduate Class** Aubrey Alvarenga David Dominguez-Aguilar Catherine Chen Teresa Huang Maureen Bellettini Undergraduate Research Award Virginia Johnson Maureen Bellettini Memorial Book Award Karina Targos ACS Undergraduate Award Nominee—Analytical Jeanelle Smoot **ACS Undergraduate Award Nominee-Inorganic**

ACS Undergraduate Award Nominee—Physical Daniel Williams ACS Undergraduate Award Nominee—Organic Linh "Janice" Ngo

UC Davis Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research

Alexandra Greb

Antonio Vazquez

General Chemistry Learning Assistants

Sally Chesnut Kevin Ly

Camille Frias Miguel Macias
Teresa Huang Lauren McNamara

Maham Javed Kelly Pan

Rafferty Leung Shaman Raofi Joshua Liu Shirley Xian

NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

Michael Aristof (Balch, Class of 2017)
